Hey you all again! I noticed it's been a week already since i wrote something.. The time goes by so fast! And i do hardly anything... I haven't even been to the beach yet as it's been quite windy but hopefully tomorrow.. who knows?? Everything's just fine, just fine. I still like it so much! I've been just walking around and spending time with a finnish girl, leena. We met last week and we're both here all alone so it's been really great and that means a lot of partying (surprised??)  Anyway, it's been love at first sight with sydney and it hasn't changed at all! I'll let you see some pictures i've taken around the city -hopefully i'm able to put them here and they aren't absolutely shit....

229881.jpg

oh australia, australia.....

229862.jpg

me with a fountain. hmm a useless picture, really...

229855.jpg

taken from the window of pizza hut! george street, the main street of sydney.

229844.jpg

Do I even have to tell what this is???

229832.jpg

Sorry,  wasn't able to turn it. Scycsrapers in the harbour.

 

Okay. Yesterday was a rough day! Believe it or not we went to a horse race. And it's nothing like in Finland, nothing! I also thought about old fat ugly poor men who go there to bet the last of their money and their house and children but here it's more like a social event. Have you ever seen pictures of the british royal family and other celebrities that go to the horse race with funny hats and feathers to drink some champagne? Well it's just like that here. So as we heard that the hostel is organizing a trip there and that it's an occation to dress up and have fun (=drink a LOT) we reserved our tickets straight away and went to buy nice dresses (it wasn't expensive at all, don't worry. it suits by budget!) And it was so strange! We went there together with four canadians we had met earlier and they had put on something special as well..... They were like a boy band in my opinion..... Nothing like a black suit, no-ou. But they had ties! So, once again some pictures i took:

229880.jpg 

the boys and us

229851.jpg

which horse will win!??

229876.jpg

and they all came to see horses???

229852.jpg

in the toilet with some funny hats....

229858.jpg

Leena and Mari

Hmmm what else should i tell you?? I have been looking for a shared flat and i've already made some calls... we'll see! I try to get it next week cause otherwise it's getting harder and harder as everybody's coming to sydney to spend the christmas time and new year's eve here. But for now it doesn't seem impossible at all! In central sydney, near everything, a typical rent is around 140 dollars per week =about 80 euros and it includes everything! All bills, laundry, internet, gym, spa and sauna! All of the apartments really have them! And usually a pool, too. So we'll see. And i think i'll post my application to the amusement park i'd like to work in right after i've finished writing this. So don't you worry -everything's  just fine! I've become friends with my room mates and we have lots of fun together (usually we just go downstairs to the bar and suffer from hang over the next day..) Not bad, not at all! You all should come here!!! Come! There's only one thing that is bothering me: the traffic lights. The green light's on for maybe 5 seconds and then it's red, red and red for maybe 20 minutes! And i'm not exagerating that much! It's nonsense, really.

 

Okay i've got to go soon and i still have to make the application and all so... speak to you soon! And by hte way if you want to send me some text messages use my aussie number please cause i usually keep it in my phone -i check the finnish one every once in  a while but still. So it is: +61424269783 And if you want to send me some letter or parcels or whatever my address is:

Mari Avikainen TCP#2044AUS

C/-Travellers Contact Point

Level 7, Dymocks Building

428 George Street

SYDNEY NSW 2000

AUSTRALIA

Looking forward to hear from you!!! Greetings to all!